Return to the North

By Viking

Waitangi Day

It is Waitangi Day here in NZ, which among other things means we get a day off! I considered long and hard about what to do with mine (OK maybe about 30 seconds of thought) I decided that I would go into Invercargill to do a food shop, thus meaning the whole weekend is free to do what I like rather than having to do chores. So after a lie in of at least half an hour I headed off to Invercargill.
The day was glorious so I stopped off briefly on the way at Colac Bay and arrived in Invercargill at around 11am. In hunting down Pak'n'Save I saw this beauty. I parked up and went for a walk to get a few shots. It is St Mary's Basilica - and is absolutely glorious, not sure the shot does it justice but it really is an impressive building, as was the Masonic lodge across the road.
I drove back and stopped off in Riverton for a walk and then drove back into Colac Bay. Had lunch at The Pavillion - wow was it good! Blue cod and chips followed by the best banoffee I've ever tasted (couldn't finish it it I was so full)
A quick walk along the beach and then home. Have added landscape and seascape shots here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.