CITY PARROT

in the Meer en Bos park. The forecast said nice weather in the morning, later overcast sky, possible rain.
So it was a good decision to walk to the Meer en Bos park. I was curious if I would see the bird of prey, somewhere sitting on a branch.
I did not, but I saw many city parrots who flew rather lowly and were looking already for a hole in some tree, for a possibility to nest at a comfortable spot.
It has been a year ago since I had seen them so near.
I walked around after taken some pictures and as I had my camera in my hand, a lady with her dog (the dog wanted to say hello to me, and was told to stay low) opened a conversation and informed me that if I was looking for the sparrowhawk she could indicate where she had seen him/her.
I gladly answered in the positive. She showed me how to walk, along the pond, over a bridge, where the cut trees were.
I somehow could not find it easily, but then there she was again, waving and pointing in the direction. When I came there she stood there too and we had
a nice talk. Was the bird a sparrowhawk or maybe a buzzard?
She had wanted to look it up, but her friend had borrowed it, for her journey to the Pyrenees, where she had gone for bird watching.
I liked to hear her talking while she came everyday to the park and had an eager eye for details.
From the park I ventured a bit further and could give the bread I had with me to a small gathering of waterbirds.

My haiku:

Flying and crying
Out loudly never a dull
Moment they have

And the proverb:

Ik wou, dat je op den Bloksberg zat.

Translation: I wished that you sat on the Brocken.

Meaning: This curse refers to the place of the Brocken, the highest mountain in the Harz, known from old times for its magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.