BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: 18w2d pregnant

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

Today I went swimming, by myself! I've not been swimming by myself since October. So that was a massive big deal.

It wasn't quite my usual routine but it was the fact that it wasn't my usual routine that prompted me to go. I used to go swimming in the evening and I'd walk to the bus stop, get the bus, walk to the pool, swim, then reverse the journey. This is still a bit too intimidating for me to attempt.

However, today I had a work meeting right near a swimming pool on a direct bus route home, so I thought I'd take my kit along and if I felt up to it I'd do the swim after my meeting. If not, nothing lost.

As it happens I felt up to it, and I swam for 20 minutes, and it went fine.

All part of trying to get back into my normal activities. I hope to return to my usual routine of three nights a week after work at some point in this pregnancy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.