In Memory of Marius

This is a picture of Marius taken by Keld Navntoft/AFP/Getty Images. Taken on February 7 2014. and taken off the internet today. I was outraged when I saw this story over the internet today. The Copenhagen Zoo in Denmark killed a perfectly healthy 18 month old young giraffe named Marius! The zoo ignored a petition by thousands of people and offers from other zoos and a private individual to save the animal. The Copenhagen Zoo said they needed to prevent inbreeding. They used a bolt gun to kill the giraffe. In front of zoo visitors they cut up the body and fed the remains to the zoo lions. I understand putting down animals because they are sick or injured but a perfectly healthy one because he had the wrong genes? I thought zoos were a sanctuary for animals. People go to the zoo because they love animals and they don't go there to see them slaughtered! Children were in attendance . I would have been horrified! Why could they have not let him live at another zoo, there were at least two offers from other zoos. I don't care what kind of genes they have, they are special and beautiful animals even if they cannot reproduce. I say SHAME on you Copenhagen Zoo and the European Association of Zoos and Aquarias which sanctioned this kill. A very sad and sorry day for all animals in zoos when you don't have the right genes! I had to write about Marius and express my sorrow and hope this will bring attention to the way some zoos are being operated. Rest in Peace Marius ...your life was too short!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.