Fibreandfotos

By Fibreandfotos

Texture

I am new to blipfoto, but I snap some images that I call "fall back photos". It is usually on my early morning walks, when I photograph something I find interesting. Often this subject is abandoned when a better photo comes along later in the day. That is the case with this particular palm tree trunk, which I've been photographing on and off for almost six weeks.

Palm trees are different from other trees in that they do not form growth rings inside. Since they don't really have branches, there are no knots or imperfections in the wood of palms. Though very hard, the wood inside a palm tree is very flexible (think palm trees swaying in the wind) due to a high silica content. Unlike other trees, palms cannot heal their trunks once damaged, so they are susceptible to rot and decay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.