School days

Every Wednesday I pick up my grandson from school. I stand outside the school with the other grandmothers, moms and dads waiting for the bell to ring. The smile on my grandson’s face when he sees me is priceless. I always ask him how his day was and he always says, ‘It was good’ followed by a quick synapsis of his day. Ah, the wonders of kindergarten when they still love school and are willing to talk about it.
I snapped this photo as he was coming out of the building today. School has been canceled for tomorrow with yet another snowstorm on the way. By this time tomorrow, we will haven close to another foot of snow on the ground. This is the snowiest winter I can remember. The schools have used up all their allotted snow days and will soon have to take days away from their spring break and add on days to the end of the year. Of course there is nothing like a snow day to a child.


I had forgotten how thrilling a snow day is until my son started school, and as much as he loves it, he swoons at the idea of a free day arriving unexpectedly, laid out like a gift.
-Susan Orlean

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.