Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Storm Front along Sierra Front

Our late afternoon jaunt on this blustery day took us to the local Home Depot hardware store. While MBH (My Better Half) was pursuing the aisles in search of the elusive anchor fastener, I chose to sit in the car and watch the evolving light shower the voluminous cloud formations with translucent color. Finally, with camera in hand, I ventured out into the wind to attempt to capture the grandeur in front and above me.

In truth, this Sunset Chaser was loath to venture out at all today, as I had a pounding headache that I could not get rid of, and tired, tired, tired. But, MBH cajoled me into accompanying him on his numerous errands, knowing that I would find something to photograph that would stir me out of my doldrums. The light illuminating the clouds did just that.

I hadn't brought my tripod, so I propped myself up against the car to stabilize myself and the camera against the wind, took my meter readings and made my adjustments, inhaled deeply, tucked my elbows in close to my body, exhaled, then shot five rapid fire bracketed shots. In spite of my efforts, there is some minimal movement in the merged shot. I then ducked back into the warm car and continued listening to Vivaldi's Four Seasons with Yolanda Kondonassis. (Listen here if you dare)

Back at home, I merged the shots using HDR Efex, added a little contrast, sharpened the image slightly, flattened it and converted it to jpeg. Voila!

Thank you all for getting yesterday's image, Mt. Rose in to the top five of the spotlight. It remained there most of the day. I was overwhelmed and amazed by your wonderful comments, stars and favorites. Thank you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.