Birthday Boy

As it's my birthday today (and as I haven't got anything else!) I thought it would be a good day to post my OldFashionSP, or two. The one on the left was taken on my first day of Primary school ( age 5, Sept 1958 I guess) in the back garden of our council house in Petts Wood looking rather stiff and uncomfortable in my new school uniform, as I've always felt in formal clothes.

The one on the right is about 6 years later, I think, taken at Paignton Zoo, on holiday with my parents. My only sibling, my sister, is 7 years older than me and was already taking independent holidays by then so I've always been used to my own company, amusing myself, preferring the company of one or two close friends rather than being with a crowd.

I've been lucky enough to have Tess as my closest friend for over 40 years and today we enjoyed a quiet day in each other's company at home. We'd planned to head for the Dorset coast today but, after last night's storms and unpredictable weather today we abandoned that idea. Couldn't even get out to try out the new lightweight travel tripod Tess gave me. A family meal planned for tomorrow .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.