HERE I AM, SIX YEARS (AND A HALF?) OLD

in the light blue dress with the little black velvet bows my mother made for me. The occasion: my first communion. I loved that dress for it had a full circle skirt and since I had seen my first ballet movies like Giselle (starring Galina Ulanova) and The Red Shoes that movie(came out in 1948 when I was three, but I saw it a couple of years later) it was my favourite for turning round and round.
The bows my mother put in my hair had different colours, mostly white, then blue and I even had chequerred ones.
For the first communion ceremony a white dress would have been more appropriate following the custom at that time.
An earlier memory of my childhood (I was probably four) in the roman catholic church was that I had to walk in a procession, clothed in a borrowed white dress. We, the little girls, called the 'bruidjes' carried a little basket with confetti and we had to scatter it during our walk. The confetti was self made by my mother and I remember to feel devastated because of the fact that long before our walk was over I had nothing left to scatter. During that same procession another disaster took place; the hair of an older girl catched fire, a candle had been carried far too near her.
Today a lazy day, after our long travel yesterday.

My haiku:

Lost in memories
Images pop up the nice
And the ugly ones

My proverb:

On velvet.

1769 First in Burke.
Meaning: Is that what you call 'On velvet' when you are sure to win something?
_ Yes!







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.