a town called E.

By Eej

Remembering

Not a man of many words, I was rather shocked when one evening in December as I was visiting, my Pap asked me how I was doing.
Things were decidedly crap at that time, in all kinds of ways, so I (under)stated that I had been better. Papa grabbed a big Euro bill out of his pocket and said: "Will this help?"

I didn't even know how to respond, so I just nodded and thanked him.

A month later he was diagnosed with metastasised lung cancer.

After he passed, nine years ago today, I bought this pendant with the money he gave me that evening. The label called it 'Gate to Happiness' - which sounded so lovely and hopeful and so desperately what I needed that I had to have it. I wear it almost every day, like a talisman.

Every day, I am more like him.

13-4-1920/18-2-2005


Through the years ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.