What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

Old Mrs Charlotte Wallder

I have had an interest in the genre painter James Charles (1851-1906) for some years.

I recently acquired this picture on an internet sales site from a dealer in San Francisco. It was very reasonable largely, I believe, because no one has recognised it. You may be tempted to say that it should be reasonable considering the distinct lack of cheeriness in the subject matter.

Here I am going to attempt to link you to the same person depicted in Charles's picture "Will it Rain" painted in 1887 and which is in the Tate Gallery

Or rather I hope you agree that it is the same person....

Old Mrs. Charlotte Wallder lived with her family at South Harling, Sussex. Her husband was an agricultural labourer and she is recorded there in the 1871 census.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.