Moody Blues

My heart really lifted this afternoon. Gorgeous weather, and just the perfect time for a walk in "my" park.

There's something really special about that place, and I think it has something to do with the Kaurna people, the original custodians of the area.

The Kaurna Aboriginal people were the original inhabitants of the area now known as Belair National Park. The Kaurna people referred to the area now known as Belair as 'Piradli' meaning 'baldness'. This was in reference to the area's appearance when looking south from the Adelaide Plains - 'bald like the moon'.

It's anything but bald today, and is an incredibly important remnant forest area.

Playford Lake is man-made, but it's just wonderful to walk around there late in the afternoon - feed the birds (even though you are not supposed to - but everyone does), and just sit on a rock for a while and re-generate.

Gitama is ever so much better than me about describing how a place can heal. But when she talks about it, I know exactly what she means.

Not that there's anything bad going on in my life - far from it. But sometimes you just need to sit for a while - know what I mean?

OMG - that monomonday stuff has really taken off in a BIIIIIG way. Thank you so much to everyone for taking it on board; it's been a fabulous response. Not everyone does it all the time, but many people do it some of the time, and we have an average list of 80 to 100 blippers taking part each week. Fantastic.

It's time for me a take a bit of a rest (phew!), and as from next week, my good friend Hobbs will be hosting it for the next four weeks. He's ever so much tougher than me, and has decided to set an extra challenge.

So - next week, fellow Blipsters, the challenge is..... drum-roll ....... MonoMonday - Food. You will need to comment in Hobbs' journal to make sure you are included in "The List". Tag it as well by all means, but that's so people can find you more easily.

If you don't already know Hobbs, it's high time you did. He's an all round good bloke and a passionate photographer. Ever so much more imaginative than me. Now I've made him blush. But in a good way I hope.

This is a white faced heron at Belair National Park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.