Riverdale2

By Riverdale2

Grandfather's Clock

Not a Grandfather clock but a clock my grandfather gave me.

Grandad died in 1995 and had been in a care home for about two years before that so it's well over 20 years since he gave me this. Probably nearer 25. We had gone to visit him for some reason (he lived about 2 hours drive away so we didn't see him often) and he suddenly produced this clock and asked if we wanted it. It had been a free gift with something else he had bought but he already had a clock. His comment to me was "what do I want two buggerin' clocks for?" I didn't particularly want it either but he was so anxious to get rid of it that I didn't like to say no.

Then after he died I realised it was probably the last thing he actually gave me so it now has some sentimental value and sits on the bookshelves in the spare bedroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.