Riverdale2

By Riverdale2

Golden Clock

When my parents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary 5 years ago, my sister took it upon herself to organise a family party for us all at her house. She is a caterer by trade so this was no problem for her. In fact, this was the easy bit; the hard part was deciding what to buy the parents as a 'golden' gift. We knew it would be a joint present from my brother, sister and self and as we are based in Somerset, Suffolk and Yorkshire respectively the easiest way of communicating was via e-mails.

My parents aren't wealthy people but they are 'comfortable'; it means that if they want anything, they go and buy it. So when my sister-in-law suggested a gold clock my sister and I tactfully ignored her, partly on the grounds that a gold clock would be predictable and naff but also because if mum and dad had felt the need for another clock, they'd have already bought one. We wanted something a little more personal and thoughtful, something they wouldn't have thought to buy for themselves. We settled in the end on a selection of fine wines and I hand stitched a wedding sampler for them. There were other bits and pieces as well but I forget what they were.

On the big day the party went well. Much food and drink was consumed and eventually the time came for speeches. This is when mum and dad surprised us by giving the three of us a present. Yep - a gold clock each. My sister and I didn't know whether to laugh or cry; we certainly didn't dare look at each other. Our sister-in-law, however, sat there with a smug smile on her face. We didn't dare catch her eye, either.

However, the clock is, actually, not unattractive. It's a simple design, no flourishes or chimes or moving parts (except for the small pendulum) and I quite like it. So we allow it to sit on the mantlepiece in the living room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.