Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Carnage

No prizes for guessing what this is!

My neighbour, who helped me with the sauce bottle tops, gave me a hand with the 105. I thought he was going to twist it in half, but finally the filter thread moved. After a quick ‘thank you’, I dashed into the house for a quick test.

Ear to the barrel and half press the shutter and listen to the vibration reduction mechanism – all working fine.

Manually turn the focus – feels as smooth as it was before (it never was silky smooth).

Autofocus – snapped in nicely.

Processed a few images to check the focus at the sensor – all is good.

What a relief, the 105 is fully operational.

I always keep the lens hood fitted when travelling, figuring that this would at least give some protection in a drop. It certainly seems to have helped. I found the hood in three pieces at the crash site.

The lens cap was smashed into the UV filter that I use for protection and could not be removed. A lot to be said for keeping accessories attached. One could probably argue a good case for a proper bag, but I just don’t like using them.

My arm has a bit more movement in it today and I am typing this with two hands AND using caps lock. Won’t be able to ride the bike for a while, because if I twist my wrist I hit a nerve, and would probably fall off again.

Physio is just a case of involving my left arm in all my daily activities and in the quiet times, rotating the wrist to gradually extend the movement and reduce the pain. I must have woken the landlady up a couple of times last night with my blood curdling screams!

Really enjoying the endorphin rushes though :)

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.