Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Living Gem

If you took an aesthetic average, I guess butterflies would probably win. BUT, if you considered the true beauty of the order Lepidoptera, you may find that you are admiring a few pages of moths.

Identification - Euchromia horsfieldi, tiger moth family.

This is the fifth opportunity that I have had to photograph this splendid creature and by far the most successful, managing 19 keeper images of various angles.

Unable to ride my motorbike, I wandered down the road to one of my old haunts, ‘the grove’. It was sufficiently overgrown to make it a diamond mine of bugs. I had forgotten the importance of mosquito repellent and took several hits which are now itching like mad.

I didn’t last very long in the field, feeling rather nauseous and light headed, a bit like suffering from shock. I returned home for a lie down, which got postponed as I could not wait before downloading this gem.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.