LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Cobbles to Me

I call the granite blocks that make up a cobbled street,'cobbles'. His Lordship brought up in the badlands of Dundee calls them 'cassies' and I've heard them called 'setts'.
Whatever their name, the art of relaying them if repairs are necessary has been lost.

There are very many cobbled street in Edinburgh and while they are rather picturesque and rekindle memories of past times, they are a hazard to cyclists and high heel wearers alike. Degeneration in the roadway causes large gaps and irregularity between the blocks . This hazard is made much worse to two wheels if the road is wet, as I know to my cost. It only takes a micro second for a wheel to hit a wet edge of a badly placed cobble and find oneself prone in the roadway still attached to the pedals. Not a cool look!

A very wet and windy day, but perversely I rather enjoyed being out and about encased in my waterproof anorak with the hood up. Pity about the sodden jeans though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.