LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

A Thorny Question

These berries look to me like black rose hips. Maybe some knowledgable fellow blipper can answer my question - What are they?

Today I'm a bit worried about my summer road bike. She (obviously female as she has a mind of her own and can be temperamental on occasion) has developed a worrying creak in her foremost regions. At least I think it's in her foremost regions because, like an itch, it is almost impossible to pinpoint. It seemed to begin after one too many trips over a road of cobbles
I'm going to take her to the bike doctor this afternoon and watch their eyes glaze over while I try to describe the problem. I hope they don't dismiss it too summarily as it is driving me mad just listening to it ,and in any case I don't know that it isn't a terminal problem.

Her sister winter bike will shortly come out for duty and take over for the the next few months. But what do you know - she has an irritating irregular click somewhere in the region of her bottom bracket/chain area which I chose to ignore while she was laid up over the summer. And that also drives me mad!
So much for cycling being a calming pastime.

Edit: She's been to the bike doctor who tried her out on the road and agreed that she had a creak. They greased the drop outs and the wheel release mechanism and tightened everything that could be tightened, and it's still got a creak. To take it further she would have to be admitted to hospital and taken apart, which as there is no NHS for bikes, will cost a fortune. The bike doctors have said they don't think it's acute and terminal and so I think I may just have to thole it as a chronic creak. Maybe she will get better over the winter tucked up in the garden shed - or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.