An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Old Alder and Cathedral, Sunrise

Back to the flooded river and watermeadows, before they recede back to "normal".

My previously Blipped favourite alder tree, the oldest in Wiltshire, frames Salisbury Cathedral Spire. The bulrushes would normally have been on the near bank of the river - and upright!

For a shot that could have been handheld, this was taken using the tripod, the legs well in the water. Lens is with one of Nikon's finest ever - look in LARGE at the detail - the FX 17-35mm D f2.8, mine now being 10 years old and on the FX D700.

Little editing, colours as they were, some shadow extraction round the left foreground.

Sad and changing times - one of Salisbury's two sex shops has closed and is now a centre for those smokeless cigarettes. Make of that what you will - I couldn't possibly comment!

The remaining sex shop was receiving a facelift yesterday...

Down my Dad's very soon - a number of things to attend to including helping organise his sister's (who lives with him) 80th birthday in a week and a bit. Not much chance to get decent shots though I always do take my D7000 down with me.

Have a good Wednesday, all - and huge thanks for getting my Night-time farmhouse Blip of yesterday right to the very top of the Spotlights!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.