Eventually it stopped raining...

... but the flood waters remain.

For the locals this is taken along Centaurus Rd looking downstream just up from the Scout Den and shops.

I took it around 7.30pm after I'd had a visit from the contractor who's done my emergency repairs and who will eventually do my full earthquake repairs. I'm reassured and all I can do now is see how next Tuesday's scoping of my repairs goes. That and of course a bit of drying out at home would be handy.

I'm a bit damp in places from leaks but nothing like hundreds of people are who've been inundated by flood waters.

You can see the Heathcote Rive lapping at properties across the river

Fortunately many of the properties along this stretch are up above the road level and beyond the flood. Not so for many down stream on this and the other river in Christchurch, the Avon River.

If you looked at/read yesterday's blip you'll know I saw the Heathcote River breached at 6.10pm Tuesday night, then blipped it looking like a lake at 8.55pm.

No one was monitoring the situation then. All down both rivers there are automated stations that monitor river levels. As an ex-hydrologist and weather/climate consultant I can't help thinking someone, somewhere missed the boat here (no pun intended).

Wishing those who contend with ongoing unresolved earthquake issues and now flooding (in some cases now multiple flood events) the very best.

A bit of sun and warmth wouldn't go amiss either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.