Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Rice, rice, baby

Pete has such as sweet tooth you would think he was
Scottish rather than Hungarian. For me wine and
cheese are my downfall and I rarely eat anything sweet.

Regularly bringing cases of Muller Rice back from
Waitrose, I had the misfortune of trying a spoonful recently.
With all due respect to the German pudding manufacturer,
who manage to get a bowl of dessert in at around
200 calories per pot, it's not rice pudding. The reason
it is not, is due to all the gums and stabilisers that
give the desserts a creamy mouth feel, but don't contain
cream or fat. To me it's like eating liquidised, artificially
jelly fish... not nice!

Anyway...

Even that it is enormously calorific and I don't eat it, I
decided to make Petey a proper traditional rice pud
(just the once as I don't want to kill him).

It took 2 hours baking and with surprisingly few ingredients
came out looking crusty with nutmeg and rather
old fashioned. Pete walked around it for a good while
before 'checking it out'.

His verdict you can see for yourself.

Recipe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.