MONOMONDAY: Architecture

As soon as Mr Hobbs, from Hobbs Run, announced this weeks Mono Monday theme would be Architecture, I had just the building in mind.

Back in my very early days on blip I added a photo to my journal of this church, which is St. Augustine's Catholic Church in Coolangatta, and the idea of playing around with a photo of the church in mono was very appealing!

Here is a bit of what I said about the history of the church back in May 2012, when I showed the church in full colour ~

This is St. Augustine's Catholic Church in Coolangatta, built in 1926, at a cost of ten-thousand and seventy pounds, including furnishings. That would have been a huge amount of money back then, but you can see what the money was spent on. Look at the stunning carvings and architecture of the building.

It's really quite a find for this area, where most of the substantial buildings have been built recently.

The bell tower stands at 110 feet high. The whole building is rather breath-taking when you look up to take a photo at close range.


When I took the photo today, I squatted down low on the stairs leading up to the church and held the camera low, to get a full shot of the front of the church. I'm really pleased with the angle, as it makes the bell tower look as though it is on a slant. I also played around with the photo in Picasa a bit, just to make it look a bit spooky, and having looked at Mr H's mono entry for today, it looks like he had the same idea....you know what they say about great minds. ;)

I'm really enjoying the Mono Monday challenge and hope that others who haven't joined in for the previous weeks will give it a go this week. And Mr H has already announced that next Monday, the theme will be "Water".

Thanks Mr. H, (and also Paladian, the original host of Mono Monday) for coming up with ideas to provide a challenge, and for keeping the challenge going. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.