Flax and shed

After feeling a bit glum today I had a little fishing expedition later in the day.

We went to the Waimak River mouth but it wasn't inviting on a grey old day. At least it wasn't blowing the usual howling easterly. I spotted the old shed and flax down near the river mouth and spent a happy few minutes examining it's charm with my camera ;-)

Then it was back to the 2 bridges on upstream on the Waimak. My chair was carefully placed in ankle deep water, I maneuvered myself to the chair with the help of crutches and fished the drop off.

My fly fishing learning doesn't extend to water yet. I can't safely stand on rough ground as I'd need to and I can spin fish from the chair. In the spin scheme of things I had some very light gear on. I've never been successful with this type of lure before but yesterday I was :-)

A sea run brown trout gave me a wee play. Dad asked how I manage this with my foot. "Yell, Dad, yell". ;-) It was such an elegant fat little trout I let it go. Not really sure why as it would have been great smoked, but I thought it needed the chance to put on a few pounds. Next time....

My first sea run, first river caught fish (as opposed to lake) and first on a small veltec spinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.