I HURRIED

at a rather early time on my bike to the Zuiderpark. What I had experienced there yesterday made me anxious not to miss some scenes, very much so, because the forecast was a bit unsure, it could be raining, there could be a bit of sunshine, not much of help for a trip.
It felt cold outside, a winter coat seemed appropriate, gloves without fingers too and a warm shawl.
When I had arrived at the park (I had choosen a different entrance, always nice to let surprises have a chance), I visited for a while the children's farm, walked then towards the beautiful trees with the pink blossom and while I stood there, too lazy to put my other lens on the camera, it became warmer and I had to undo my zip, put my gloves in my pocket.
I spotted while taking from different angles the blossoms, a city parrot who ate the petals, or that is what I thought she did.
What she really did was picking a blossom, for one moment held it in her bill and the next moment threw it away, it fell on the ground. She did this in an amazing tempo. Why? Why did she do this I wondered. After taking a lot of pictures I saw that in the same tree two other parrots were busy doing the same.
Ha, I thought, I always thought the wind blew the petals on the ground, but look, there are some birds who help the tree a lot.
Then I went away from this bizarre scene, walked around, enjoyed the beautiful surroundings.
On my way home it became already much more cold. A strong wind blew.
Piet Hein had gone to the sea on his own. Together we looked at our pictures.
Mischa came for lunch, had an appointment for the afternoon and came back for dinner.
This evening we will choose a movie and watch it. Seeing all your interesting and beautiful pictures will be postponed till tomorrow. It sometimes just happens, just this time.

My haiku:

I saw them eat berries
Looking in holes in the trees
Bite off petals never!

And the proverb:

Zij steken de hoofden bijeen als de koeien in de wei, als er donder aan de lucht is.

Translation: They put their heads together as the cows in the meadow, when the thunder strikes.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.