What We See and What We Don't See

I stopped on the bridge to admire the delicate fringe of snow melting into the creek, but it was the ever-inspiring MrS who asked, "Are you looking at the circles?" Circles I hadn't noticed til he spoke up, but here they are, each one caused by a new drop of snowmelt, rippling and interlocking, adding to the wonder of being out on skis on a stunning day in the Sierra. Skiing at last, in a drought year that does not bode well for gardens this year.

Skiing, which someone says is such good exercise. But I don't think of it as exercise at all: it is simply what it is. Skiing is skiing--a place where my whole self is engaged--there is nothing but this glorious movement and the clear rock-purified air and such brightness and joy and I wish it could go on forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.