The trip has started with a few ........

............ disruptions!!!!

Manchester Airport: Full search of carry-on - seems I was carry "excessive electronic equipment and the fact it was so dense was suspicious" --- that took 45 minutes! (and she swabbed everything with the same swab so who would know which piece of equipment was suspect!!) When I mentioned it she replied "well we would just have to swab each item separately again". Really???

Dulles Airport (Washington DC): Pulled aside for secondary screening - into a large room full of people at 4.30pm, got out of there at 6.45pm! Seems I have a "similar name" to someone on their priority list!!

Pittsburgh Airport: Through the x-ray ok, had my hands swabbed - into the machine, red lights and sirens! Seems I had trace explosives on my hands! What?? Where from?? Who knows said the very nice man - could be from anything but we will have to give you a full body search and swab everything in your carry-on (again) - much more efficient as the officer swabbed each item with a new disc. That took an hour.
I had enquired, on arrival, if they had availability on an earlier flight - yes they did but wanted $200 extra - errrr, no thanks I'll stick with my original booking - good job really as I would have missed the earlier flight!!

Orlando Airport: Straight to baggage reclaim, waited and waited ..... and waited and waited ..... the carousel finally ground to a halt with three bags left on it, none of them mine. Up to the Southwest desk, enquired about my bag - response: "Have a look outside this office hun (hun??) it may have come in on an earlier flight" - and there it was! Think it would have been nice if they had told me!! Panic over!!

Car rental: No car for me ..... but don't worry the valet will bring one around for you, it's just being detailed ...... another 15 minute wait! It arrived and it is nice!!!

The drive to the hotel: Rolling along quite nicely ..... satnav said 50 miles to go/arrival 7.00pm ..... then everyones brake lights came on and there was an almighty bang ahead - someone had come across an intersection and ploughed into a car turning across ...... traffic grinds to a halt .... both drivers got out but, when I finally got to go past, their cars will never be driven again!!!!

But I am here and the weather looks promising - the hotel is okay but I won't bore you with the details of the very rude young girl who checked me in ...... may save that for tomorrow!! (lol)

Oh, by the way, the photo is Pittsburgh from the air ..... no snow there although the forecast said it was cold.

More detail ............


Many thanks for all your comments this week so far - not sure if I will get to respond as there are too many birds to find and 'gators to track (I hope) ...... hope to have something a little more Floridian for you tomorrow.




DSC-HX5V : f/9 : 1/320" : 5.2 mm : ISO 125


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.