An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Close Encounters... of the Salisbury kind...

What strange lights and sources of light there are around the farms and fields at night, a few miles from Salisbury...

No, not the Northern Lights, but the full moon is trying to burst through the fast scudding cloud, these creating the streaked effect through the long exposure. Salisbury Cathedral is somewhere to the far right and over the hill, in the valley below and the housing estate of Bermerton Heath is directly in front, casting the warm colour cast. Really don't know how the rainbow effect crept in but was in all the shots taken at this location, just after midnight.

Don't believe the colours? Here is basic unedited jpeg absolutely untouched. OK, I edited the RAW here, as always but basically the colours between the finished Blip and that jpeg are the same, albeit a bit brighter, through shadow extraction. I also cropped it a bit.

LARGE

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

So, my venture out was a long awaited one - and much needed, as I knew the weather was going to turn from the (eventual) sunshine earlier, in the afternoon, to cloud moving in. I just couldn't get my body to interact with my brain and so it was sunset before I finally got walking.

Knowing it might include night-shots, tripod was lugged. I hadn't necessarily planned to stay out til after midnight but this had to be blipped!

Yes, I might have veered from the actual public footpath but was on a field edge, the field was grass anyway, so I wouldn't have damaged any crops and there was no livestock. I spotted this tree on the horizon as I came into a dip and knew I had to include it.

The original scene didn't really look much like this, it's only through the long exposure that the light and colours accumulate and the cloud movement builds up.

I know that earlier, an outdoor football pitch on the housing estate had its floodlights on, so maybe they helped create the glow. Some "military" airborne activity also took place...........

Unbelievably tired now - I really must be coming down with something, usually the 4 or 5 miles walked wouldn't totally whack me out. Mind you, it was a chilling wind that blew up there and I wished that I had my thermals on! I did get quite uncomfortably cold, that sunshine earlier sure looked deceptively warm.

Will be back with you in the morning now!

Many thanks for getting my mono weeping willow in the moonlight Blip up quite high into the Spotlights!

I also want to thank all the positive comments left on my Old Age Blip from the day before. I didn't reply much at all and wanted to keep the text for yesterday's as brief as possible. I think that I conclude that the approach and image was a worthwhile one to have tried, and to have Blipped.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.