An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Ol' Blue (fish) Eyes...

Thanks again for sending yesterday's effort into the Spotlight. I am both humbled and rather taken aback at the responses and especially all the new subscribers they (and day's before) have generated

I am rather woefully behind thanking individuals for their hearts and five stars as well as those new subscribers - and I WILL get there. The trip to the community psychiatric nurse has at least got the ball rolling, shall we say but these things are never quick - or easy. So bear with me and I will do my best. (I don't think a Blip of that waiting room would have hit the Spotlight, frankly!)

So, an ultra-quick Blip tonight, on the stroke of midnight as the cafe bar here, which has featured in a few Blips, now equipped with fetching electric blue lighting closed for the night. The Cathedral Spire, right down on the horizon is still floodlit.

The full-framed D700 is resting on the top rail of the bridge almost outside my flat - that's how close I live to the cathedral. Attached is the Sigma 8mm circular fisheye - Nikon don't even make an equivalent any more for their full-frames!

Exposure's always a sod and bits burn out and others stay in deep shadow, but you are including literally half of the entire view! (180 degrees, from side to side). You can't crop a circular fisheye image either and so you really do have to fill the frame with interest.

The moon is up there as are the late night boy racer's car lights. That tree is absolutely enormous and usually a 14mm (full-frame again) vertical shot is needed to get it all in.

This is definitely a one shot image - I couldn't really repeat it without it looking much the same and with dodgy weather forecast (again!) felt that this is about as good as it's ever going to get.

Quite a lot of sharpening and evening out of exposure. Not a total success, true, but a quick Blip and it's taken twice as long to write this than to take and edit the pic.

My last Blip using this lens is Circle of Confusion The DX equivalent focal length is just 4.5mm (Nikon)

Lots more detail on L - large

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.