Jack James

By JackJames

A loose end

Sun, and after a wonderful walk around Arthur's seat and down into Duddingston, I was at a loose end. After a nice long chat with the Mother, I set off in the direction of the botanical gardens to do some drawing. However, by the time I got there after a protracted lunch, it was gone 4 o'clock, so I decided to skip it and come back when I had more time, as it closes at 5.

I popped into Gamma, a cycle workshop / café where I pumped my tires (Sean's hand pump can only get you to 40 or so psi, hopeless for a road bike) and headed on my way to Crammond, wiggling though the suburbia to the north of the gardens to get there.

I love the foreshore here, such a hidden gem of the city. I took a load of photos, but spent most of my time listening to the birdsong and gentle lap of the sea.

I decided to go to the pub, and maybe write a little over a pint, but as I handed over the £1.53 for my drink (very specific pricing) I noticed that poppea, theo and friends were there already. Very very odd, as this pub is miles away from anywhere!

So sat down and chatted with them, and ended up cycling back together to make burgers for dinner. A great and very serendipitous afternoon and evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.