A Tangled Web

In to Schull this morning, giving Rosie a lift. It was pretty quiet. Not much opens until 11am and then only from Wednesday to Saturday! Toast and cappucino was taken in Newmans then I stopped of for a bit of trespass historical enquiry on my way home. My first port of call was the old workhouse . This is a huge site, still walled, almost moated in fact. In its day it must have been intimidating for there are the remains of a gate lodge, administrative buildings and then the main house - tall, rectangular and austere. The ivy has really taken grip now, I was amazed at the sheer size of the boughs and the rather beautiful shapes, like plaited basket weave. This is an old doorway, the door long since gone and the ivy immense and intricate creeping all the way up through three storeys. The green is the result of damp and mildew.
I also called into Dunbeacon National School, looking very sorry for itself with many slates ripped off in the recent gales.
Back home the sun wa shining through the showers and I've planted my three apple trees bought the other day.
Arthouse tonight - The Broken Circle Breakdown. It's Belgian and judging by the trailer seems to invovle a lot of tattooed nudity and Bluegrass. Looks encouraging. I'll report back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.