Good News!

I got a call this morning offering me the job! I'm really pleased, they've offered me more money than I'm on at the moment and want me to have a full months' training before I actually start working as it's a legal field that I've never worked in before. The down side is that to do the training I need to go to one of their offices in Surrey which is a 100 mile round trip each day! They've said they'll pay my travel expenses which is great, but it's going to mean long days for the first month. I'm contemplating seeing how much it would be to stay in a local B&B which isn't ideal, but it would make life easier.

Anyway, they're issues that we can work out, so I accepted and start on 22nd April. Very shortly after the phone call, I received an email from Michael or Mick as he's known, the solicitor I'll be working for which said "I've just been told the great news that you've accepted the offer. I'm really pleased and genuinely looking forward to working with you. I have a good feeling about this...." How nice is that? Such a difference to where I'm working now.

I'll go into the office on Monday and hand in my notice. I don't have a contract so I'm only going to give them a few days and I'll leave next Thursday as my friend Alison arrives on Friday for the weekend. That will give me a couple of weeks off before a start and I want to make sure I'm fully recovered.

I've had a good day resting today, and Chrissy came round to see me. I was having chicken soup for my lunch as I've been told it's very good for helping get rid of a virus, so she had some too, and she brought some lovely lemon & poppy seed muffins which we didn't end up eating, but she left them for me and Alan tonight. She also bought us both a little one glass bottle of wine - for medicinal purposes of course! Tonight I'm following my daughter's recommendation and having a 'sea salt' bath - apparently that's good for drawing out a virus. Chrissy said I could just go for a swim in the sea but it's a bit old for that!

Anyway, having not been anywhere today, I looked around in the garden for a blip, and decided on these grape hyacinths which are bursting into life. I love their colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.