The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Wash behind your ears

My mother always reminded me to wash behind my ears, though I'm not sure I always remember to.

I was a little worried about the little calf last night, I couldn't see him with the rest of the herd, and his mother appeared to be looking and calling for him. So, first thing this morning, I went looking for reassurance, and here he is. He is still the only calf in the herd so far this year. I said the other day that last year's calves were being suckled until a month or two ago - I was wrong, at least one is still being suckled now at a year old.

It's been a warm day. Reggie is devouring dandelions, and under the roof of his hutch I found a hibernating peacock butterfly. It will surely be on the wing soon. As I was looking at it, thinking it was the first butterfly I have seen this season, there was a flash of sulphur, as a brimstone flew through the garden.

I'm still feeling warm inside after improbably managing to buy two tickets to see Kate Bush on Wifie's birthday in August. It was a minor miracle as the tickets to all 22 concerts sold out in just over 10 minutes, and tickets are now changing hands on the secondary ticketing sites for 4 figure sums. We won't be selling ours.

An early blip tonight as we are going to se the Mandela film in the village tonight. Thank you for the hearts, stars and comments for the last little highlander blip. Apologies for the lack of variety of blip material at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.