How did it happen????

Cradle to 65 in a silver flash, and I'm in good company...

Each DAY and for the next 19 years, roughly 10,000 Baby Boomers will reach their 65th birthday on a daily basis. According to Pew Research, 13% of Americans are currently over the age of 65. By 2030, after all of the baby boomers have reached retirement age, 18% of the total United States population will be over the age of 65. This large number of age-ins is also known as the “silver tsunami".

I've gathered up a few photos and my bronzed baby shoe from my 65 years on earth. Proudly sitting up baby, a formal portrait at 4 with bangs my mother artfully trimmed just before the photo. High school, headband, pearls and charm bracelet. On to college where I started cutting my own hair and cast hairdressers aside. I look a bit cross, but I loved my senior year student teaching assignment at The Shady Hill School in Cambridge, Massachusetts. I fondly remember both of those little 5 year olds who would now be on the cusp of 50.

Where does the time go??? Two old family friends just stopped by with wine and a card, 93 & soon to be 90(the driver!!) He told me it just goes when you're not looking.

For teh Record,
This day came in with cloudy skies that hopefully will turn blue, but the air smells like spring.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.