Shakespeare Challenge: a foolish gentleman

OK - I took a big liberty with this. I am uneducated in the ways of the Bard, unlike Anniemay, who despite being a Mathematician, is well versed in literature. (She was a Grammar school girl. I rest my case.)

I was struggling with Froth and noticed that there is another character in this play who happens to be a constable. A little further research with my old uncle Wiki and I discover other plays featuring constables or policemen who all appear to be foolish characters. Perhaps the most well known - and foolish - is Dogberry in Much ado about Nothing. Here he is directing traffic in Messina on his official policeman’s traffic plinth.

Why the interest in policemen? I don’t really know. Perhaps because they’re in the news a lot right now. I’m also thinking a lot about Scotland, for much the same reason. A few years ago we scattered my mum’s ashes on a hillside at the back of my grannie’s old house, overlooking the River Forth. When I was young she’d often ask me to take a note to a man in the local billiard hall. She always told me to “mind the polis” (look out for the policeman). I discovered much later she’d been using me as a bookie’s runner. Here’s tae ma Gran. (Poem a day challenge)

I wish I was a Polis Man
Wi a fancy, flashy car
I’d chase the buggers on their phones
They widnae get that far
I’d ha’e tae ha’e a whistle
An’ bug boots on ma feet
An’ a stick tae dish oot justice
I’d mak the buggers greet
Ma pals wad a’ be in ma car
I’d gi’e’em such a treat
Wi’ blues and twos a flashin’
We’d aw gang doon the street
We’d need tae check oot a’ they pubs
The patrons wad be glad
We’d tak a dram just to be sure
The whisky wasnae bad
Oh I wish I was a Polis Man
A life that can’t be beat
25 years service
And then put up ma feet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.