Shakespeare challenge: Bottom.

For some reason I had cowslips and bees supping in mind for this blip. A vague memory of school assemblies and a song on that subject convinced me to get down on my hands and knees in the wet grass first thing this morning, to take a photo of a cowslip just emerging in a corner of the lawn. Anniemay has her long lens on her camera in hope of capturing my bottom for her blip.

But I was not a Grammar school boy and so rely on my personal tutor, Uncle Wiki, to put me straight. Wrong play: it’s The Tempest. Doh!.

Anniemay decides she needs to photograph a horse. Not something we can quickly call to hand. There’s a paddock a few miles away.

her; will you come with me?
me; Umm … I’m a bit busy with my own blip right now.
her: you can’t be Igor if you don’t come and help.
me; but it’s not so easy now we’re both blipping.
her; you can’t just resign you know.

So half an hour later I find myself talking to old nag in a field. I talk to the horse as well.

But all the while that song is lodged in my head - and needs must in the life of a busy blipper. So - here’s a bottom and a verse:

Where the bee sups, there sup I
In a cowslip’s bell I lie…….

which is not
an ideal place
when you’ve drunk too much
and you’re off your face

a better plan would be a bed
or at a stretch, the floor instead

the Bard methinks did get it right
as I ponder on it now
the place to stew
when you’ve had a few …….

….. is under the blossom that hangs on the bough

The Tempest

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.