Eh Naw...

It was my TFP Brother's birthday today. What better way to celebrate than to join a CND (Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament) protest in the centre of Glasgow. I didn't have time to do a placard but I think TFPBro has done a wonderful job to add to what is one of the highlights of a scottish protest event.

The banner and slogans that people have are brilliant and very Scottish. There was 'Patrick Harvie, It's Yersel...' and 'Take yer Trident and Shove it up yer Thames....' amongst others.

I'm not overtly political and have only recently taken an interest in things that are getting very interesting. This is one thing that does particularly interest me as I really don't understand part of the mentality in the 'big stick' argument. We can't use nuclear weapons but we need to been seen to have them to deter others from using similar ones against us. This being a solution to a cold war attitude that doesn't necessarily exist anymore. Add to that, we're wanting to replace them with a newer model at a ludicrous price tag that I'm sure can be better spent in a different area.

But one of the most pertinent things is that if the big stick argument is still valid which I don't believe it is, if I was in charge of where to strike first at our country, what would be the most obvious target? It would be that big red target we have painted on Faslane on the Clyde.

There obviously things to consider such as jobs and other things but I'm sure we can re-evaluate priorities and work out new solutions, not just replace old outdated issues that are irrelevant in a modern world.

After the protest we had a wee impromptu birthday-ish lunch then I headed over for an evening of remembering what a good songwriter Kurt Cobain was. He died 20 years ago today. It was a rather good Kurt Cobain tribute night at the Garage in aid on a Scottish Mental Health charity and consisted of 10 bands playing Nirvana covers culminating in Smells Like Teen Spirit closing the night with an almighty thronging mosh pit. Great fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.