Outside the gallery

Gazing on the world,
Wistful as the artist's muse,
Lost in her own thoughts.


A lovely day meeting friends in London to go and see the David Bailey exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery followed by a long boozy/chatty lunch.

Somehow managed to get there early, so spent half an hour or so snooping round Trafalgar Square. It was interesting to watch people as they stood on the balcony in front of the National Gallery ... framed by the columns ... I was particularly taken with this lovely lady as she looked like she had just stepped out of a pre-raphaelite canvas .... I think she may have clocked me as I passed her in the street later and she smiled at me!
More pics here

The Bailey exhibition was great .. also very interesting to see how he doesn't follow the "rules" of portraiture .... what a life he has had/is having ....! My only criticism of the exhibition was the fact that the exhibition catalogue was a large hardback book for £40 ... way to much... I normally buy a catalogue when I go to a major exhibition, but this was way too much, what a shame ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.