Cricket

I spent a few hours clearing more garden. It seems the floods brought in more rubbish than I had thought. I raked up about 10 barrow loads from the next bit to grass over. I then moved the chickens fence and built a nice bonfire in the new bonfire patch ;)

After lunch we took Alfie to see Mr Cricket. This is a shop in a nearby village (not a huge stump shaped bloke). As Alf is Wicket Keeper he needs yet more kit so we got a helmet (as modelled) leg pads (different to batting ones), some new gloves, some new inner gloves and of course a new bat. I'm the first to admit that I know little about Cricket so when we discussed 'knocking in' I had to declare my ignorance. It seems this the method to condition a new bat and involves knocking a ball against the bat for 6 or 8 hours! Luckily the shop have a machine that will do it, so we set the machine off and went to the pub. 30 mins later we picked the bat up, took it home and to our horror found it had a huge mark on it. I emailed the shop with some pictures. They were very apologetic (it seems a junior staff member had taken it off the machine and put it into the bag) and are sending us a new one. Alf can keep the old one. No quibble, just great customer service. Highly recommended.

Then to the pub with Pizza and Jules for Fish and Chip Wednesday. What a capital idea that is. £5 for fish and chips! Well fed and a few pints later it is time for some rubbish telly.

Thanks for your help with cameras yesterday, I think I need to look at a sony rx100..

large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.