Capital adventures

By marchmont

Family

A fairly mundane morning. Up to Village Grocer again to buy food for tonight. The air miles represented by the food they sell must be amazing. Food flown in from the 4 quarters to satisfy the diverse expats. I got fresh rhubarb (v expensive, £3 a stalk) because crumble is #1 son's favourite. He was working at home today due to an IT outage.

I went to the pool when I came back, had a swim and a snooze and then up to the apartment to read that Judi's flight had landed 35 minutes early so that meant a quick change of plan. Kee Fun and I got to Sentral Arrivals about 5 minutes before Judi appeared.

The rest of the day has been spent chatting and eating. I made the meal. Few glitches, not enough fat in the crumble because I forgot to take the butter out of the fridge early enough so it ended up more cakey than crumbly. The idiosyncracies of the oven also meant it came out more v deep brown than golden brown if you know what I mean. Didn't stop #1 son scoffing it though. He's worth it. Then I should have put the rendang on sooner or used less water as it took about an hour to reduce, but it was good.

Judi's a good advert for the Australian tourist industry, doing her v best to convince the KL 2.5 that they'd go well on Oz. We'll see.

My Commonwealth Games shifts have come through. The technology wasn't playing ball last night so I don't know if they've received my acceptance and they can't tell me either. And then there are 2 shifts I have problems with, one when I have tickets and the other work. You're supposed to prioritise volunteering over attending, not easy when the volunteering and ticket ales processes went in sync. Well Rugby 7's was a 3rd choice anyway and everyone keeps telling me who is going to win that final.

Fingers crossed Protocol can get it sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.