Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

Northern High.

This is looking directly North West from my back garden.

There is a tale that Iceland was "discovered" by some brave soul (who's name eludes me) by pointing a boat NW from Scotland and sailing. 6 Days later he arrived in Snæland.

Been a odd day. Up early with a few wee hours sleep, on a high from our trip and then I managed to pay my respects at a funeral of a fellow Fat Hippy Records musician who was taken far too early. I say fellow but he was in a whole different league to me.

He was the "real thing". So much so that his early death has caused a bit of soul searching for many including myself. Just what it means to be part of a musical community is really quiet an exclusive club. We need to treat each other better and support each other more. Feels like it's happening up here. Cheers Tom :)

Dave dedicated his life to music and performance and driving for the best. I knew him to say "hello" or exchange a few words and pleasantries. I also knew his reputation for brutal honesty in the studio or onstage and as I'd be fearful of his comments and never put myself in that firing line, as a player, it commanded respect.

I've formed this opinion of Dave from having small talk in a local Asda many times over the last few years and it being completely different to small talk during a wee tour we did together or being within the walls of Fat Hippy Records HQ. He certainly had a professional "mode".

One of his very last requests was that the band he was, is and always will be in, Gerry Jablonski and the Electric Band, should carry on with out him. Powerful stuff.. Don't know if I could do that minus 1 with our lot.

Right I'm off... Typed too much already I think.

All the best Dave. You certainly left your mark.

Thanks for looking
B

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.