WALKING WITH FRIENDS

Yesterday our friend, Clare rang and asked if I would like to go for a walk round a local Country Park today - which suited Mr. HCB, because he said he had lots to do in the garden (and you know I am number 3 in his life at the moment - Cricket and Gardening being numbers 1 and 2!)

She picked me up at noon and off we went - it's only 5 minutes from where we live so we didn't have far to go. Josh, her son had his scooter and often went on ahead, so Clare and I had a good catch-up chat.

I have a special fondness for Clare as when our younger son was involved in a serious road accident when he was 15, she was a really loyal friend to him and used to visit him in hospital every day - I think I appreciated it more than he did at the time - but they have stayed friends over the years, and now her own Mum lives in Devon, I have been adopted as her "Swindon" Ma.

It was beautiful walking by the lake, and although it was rather chilly with a cold wind blowing, there was blue sky and fluffy clouds in abundance. We saw lots of water fowl and Josh was pleased to see the grey herons on their nests.

Amazing how quickly the time goes and the road doesn't seem half as long when you are chatting with a friend. We then went back to her house for coffee and more chat and Josh even shared his chocolate with us - so all in all a good afternoon!

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead.
Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow.
Just walk beside me and be my friend.
Albert Camus


Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's blip - which helped it into the Spotlight - I am most grateful.

If you would like to see my Lent Post-It notes, have a look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.