Garden Centre

A lovely evening at TJs last night. We had time to do a short walk on her land then back to a feast in her conservatory and much interesting chat. On the way home though, the mountain was on fire - it was like travelling through Dante's Inferno. Every year this happens - apparently it's a traditional way of rejuvenating grass for grazing, but it's illegal after the end of March. This had just been set alight and then left. The fire brigade had arrived but it was a sad sight - you can't help but think of all the wildlife and small trees just coming into leaf.

Today I went in search of potting compost and had to venture out to Ballylickey where there is a small but excellent little garden centre. Compost and several other things were purchased and while the bloke was loading things up, I peeped into the shed. Obviously once a small cottage, the huge old fireplace remained and the Sacred Heart. I just found it so touching how it had been decorated - the fresh flowers and sparkly material and little bows.  Not your usual garden  centre.

Back home and lots of gardening ensued in the warm sunshine and then we went for a walk down to the sea. Lovely. I found a large lump of what I think is ambergris - I might be rich.  In case you don't know what ambergris is (and I did have to google) it's a yellowish waxy mass produced in the intestines of sperm whales, apparently to protect its gut from the very sharp beaks of squid that it feeds on. It's also highly prized for use in making perfume. Now you know!

And - I have a new camera! A rather snazzy Canon G15 which so far I'm very impressed with. Lots to learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.