Farranamanagh

I am wrecked! The trouble with warmth, sunshine and easing winds is you don't stop!! I zoomed down to Farranamanagh early this morning to deliver a book to my friend M. She emerged from her garden, straw hatted, secateurs and trug in hand and we chatted. Tearfully she told me she was selling her house - it was too big as were the gardens. She lives in the most incredible spot right on the sea, with views to this lake to the east. The house was originally built by the Fiennes family - Ralph and Joseph being famous actors. The gardens go down to the sea, wind round the house and fruit and vegetable patches wend up the hill. M lost her husband three years ago and her family are all in Cork city so she's doing the sensible thing. She then revealed that she was nearly 80. My jam dropped. I have huge respect for her - she gardens, she travels, she still works occasionally as a counsellor, she reads, she is an inspiration.
If you're tempted you can see the property here

Back home, Franco had been enlisted to help dismantle the tree. A mound of logs have materialised, as has tons of kindling and shredded stuff suitable for mulch. I meanwhile was up the top - the hill behind our house where the veg patches have run away with themselves and needed severe taming. Two small beds dug, two tiny paths uncovered, green beans put out and back muttering. A glass of wine has already been consumed with some very delicious calamata olives. I think it's my turn to make supper too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.