Midnight Feast

This is a very early blip as it's just after midnight, but we've had one of the best nights of Spring Watch in a long time!

A couple of nights ago when we were watching the cameras, we saw two Badgers on the lawn at the same time. So Alan set up another infra-red camera in the garden, now known a Badger Cam 2. Once it started to go dark I went out and scattered a trail of peanuts leading from the hole in the hedge where the Badgers appear, around the garden, down the steps and onto the patio. I put a lot of nuts in front of the patio doors in the hope that it would come close, and I also put some left over chips on the grass.

We set the camera on the tripod, turned the TV onto the Badger Cam, and waited. Alan's dad wanted to watch TV but he was outvoted, and I'm glad he was because within about 20 minutes the fox appeared. It wandered around the garden, ate a few nuts and then ran off which we thought was strange. But shortly after, the Badger appeared, so the fox obviously knew it was there.

I took a few photos but I was too restricted with the tripod, so I ended up lay on my stomach with my head and shoulders under the curtains and my camera on the little tripod up against the patio doors. It took some time, but with a running commentary from Alan and his mum who were watching the TV, I knew when it was coming down the steps.

Alan's mum said she's not laughed as much in a long time, watching me under the curtains, but it was worth it. It was the most amazing thing I've seen, and it came right up to the patio door without noticing me. I took lots of shots, but they were on night scene, so they aren't particularly sharp, but it's the best I can do with my camera in such low light.

We've now re-named them Barry and Beryl after Alan's Dad and Aunty. I'm not sure which one this is, but I think It's Beryl as it was smaller than the other one. Beryl doesn't seem as timid as Barry who's quite jumpy when he hears anything and runs off into the shadows.

I've added the other photos to my Spring Watch album on Flickr if you want to have a look.

Anyway, I'm going to bed now, so I'll say goodnight and hope you all have a lovely Easter Sunday x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.