Newcastle life

By Puffling

The top of Penshaw monument!

Today I went to Penshaw Monument and climbed to the top for the first time!

The monument is a folly and was built in 1844 for the 1st Earl of Durham. It stands on Penshaw Hill and is 70 foot high. It can be seen from miles around and when driving north up the A19 and I spot Penshaw monument, I know I am nearly home.

The monument is a replica of the Temple of Hephaestus in Athens. Within one of the pillars is a pitch black, tiny spiral staircase leading to the top of the monument. National Trust provide a head-torch to guide your way up the staircase and only 5 people at a time are permitted to the top at a time for safety.
I used to come here every couple of weeks for walks around the area as a child but I did not know that it was possible to climb to the top. Apparently, in 1926 a 15 year old boy fell from the top and died so since then the stair case has been closed to visits. Since 2012 national trust has opened the stairs on occasions to let visits to the top again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.