Gourd of the Week

It was a slow...and I m-e-a-n...s-l-o-w...Blip day. 46F outside, and windy. I took the sissy smart way out, and took my walk on a treadmill at the gym.

Then, I spent the afternoon cooking (bean soup), and working in my workshop (building stuff..)

I put the finishing touches on this gourd...putting pears on the pear gourd, and burning them on with a wood-burner. My clever title for the piece? A quartet of pairs pears. The 3 inserts are the 3 pears on the other sides.

One problem I did have with the gourd. I grabbed a small bottle of shoe dye that was labeled TAN. Well...it sure doesn't look tan to me. It looks like orange. But, I do like how the dye brings out the "spots" of the dried gourd. A couple coats of sealer will finish the job.

P.S. The bean soup was delicious. I put the ham bone in from Easter, along with a bunch of vegetables...topped off with some Jiffy cornbread. (I think my older sister...the Queen of Bean...would approve.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.