Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Calton Hill, Edinburgh, Snowscene

Cajoled my daughter to accompany me on a climb up Calton Hill today.

Being a pre-teenager, she has an opinion of her own, but not much experience of walking in the snow and ice.

So the first trip into town was aborted when she realised (somewhat late) that I was actually seriously expecting her to climb up the hill with me in the cold and wintry weather.

The second trip into town had her insisting that she was still going to be wearing those pink Converse baseball boots of which she is so fond.

By the time I took this photograph she was telling me that one of her toes had fallen off due to frostbite!

Why don't daughters listen to their mothers?

The trips weren't entirely wasted - we were going to our cottage to let our Christmas visitors in, and wanted to get some practice of climbing Calton Hill in before the Torchlight Parade which will take place on 29 December - there will be fireworks and Son et Lumiere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.