Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Technology!

Tried JR’s new phone this morning. Tried ringing my phone, which, as they’re both Virgin Media, is free. Got a notice saying ‘Emergency calls only’. Hmmm. Rang the helpline. Again. From what I gathered, and it wasn’t completely clear, I think I have to take out the sim and the battery, and wait 24 hours before I try to use it. Why? Technology! Grrr.

And why do I always need to use a pair of tweezers to prise a sim card out? Bad guys in movies getting rid of their sim cards just whip ‘em out in a flash. Mind you, it might spoil the flow of the narrative if it showed them scratching around for tweezers…

I want to see the first episode of Fargo. It is not to be found on the ‘On Demand’ TV, but can be viewed on the iPad. Why? I have come across this before, and it’s very annoying. So I resolved to fiddle with my Mac TV box which claims to mirror anything on your iPad on to your TV. And it does! Great!

Everything, except 4 OD, which ‘does not support mirroring from an iPad.’ Technology!! Grrrr.

Bought a pair of shoes by accident yesterday. Went to return them today. Don’t need them. Popped in on my pal S, to discover that she actually climbed Toubkal (biggest mountain in Morocco which we just looked at and felt dizzy) a few years ago. Respect!!

Took loads of candid photos by the bus stop, and even in the garden opposite, which was full of dandelions. I must have been a strange sight - an old biddy bent double over a low fence. Especially when I got my scarf stuck…

However, when I got home, I got the legend ‘No Picture’. The SD card kept saying ‘Write Protect’ and I kept moving the wee lock thingie. I had seen the photos when I took them all right, but I can’t get into the card now - every time I put it in, the lock thingie locks itself. Just as well I hadn’t used it in Morocco. Technology!!! Grrrrrr.

Had to wait till JR brought some flowers home. You can see the hedge is greening up nicely. You can also see the terrible state of the old table. I will fix it up. A lace cloth has been over it, covering most of its blemishes. It will be good as new soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.