Brand new!

At work we have a lovely pond, which although full of goldfish is also full of wildlife. As I walked by it this lunchtime I noticed a blue tailed damselfly flitting around on the reeds, so I rushed in to get my camera ...however by the time I got back the bluetailed damselfly had disappeared!!!
Not one to give up without a fight I thought I would have a quick look round to see what else I could find, and lo and behold there right beside the pond, on a dried reed was this newly hatched (teneral) Female Large red damselfly!!!
My guess is she had only hatched about 30 minutes before as she was still holding on to the larval case (exuviae) she had just crawled out of, and her wings were not yet dry!!
The large red damselfly Pyrrhosoma nymphula, is a medium sized damselfly, which can be found fairly commonly around the edge of ponds, lakes, ditches etc and also in grassland and woodland. It is the first damselfly to emerge in the UK and is on the wing from April right through to August.
Males are bright red with a black thorax and black bands towards the end of the body. Females exist in several colour forms from very red, to almost black. Both sexes have black legs, unlike the smaller and considerably rarer Small red damselfly which has red legs (see July 29th 2013).
Maybe I will be able to blip the Bluetailed damselfly tomorrow!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.