Newcastle life

By Puffling

Forget-me-nots

Was at work all day today and it's pouring with rain outside so haven't been far. Went out to my front garden which I share with my upstairs neighbour to take a picture of the forget-me-nots to blip.
My mam pointed them out to me when she visited the other day and told me the story of how they got their name (the story is that when God named all the flowers, this tiny unnamed flower called "oh Lord, forget me not!" And He said "that shall be your name").
In previous hospitals that I've worked in, we've use pictures of forget-me-nots in the medical notes to help identify patients that have memory impairment such as dementia (this helps staff who may be meeting the patient for the first time, know that they may need extra help and may not be able to express what they want as clearly).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.